仪表系列

航海精准度与美学的完全融合

亚诺表新的仪表系列灵感来自于约翰•亚诺后半生制作的腕表,以及在他过世后由他的儿子约翰•罗杰•亚诺制作的腕表。当时,约翰•亚诺和约翰•罗杰全心地致力于追求绝对的精准度,并解决如何使腕表可以准确而可靠地在公海上确定经度。他们获得了巨大的成功,由于腕表品质一流,在短短几年间,他们就成为皇家海军的首选腕表供应商,同时成为众多最杰出的航海家和探险家的首选。

在当时的年代,钟表在航海过程中担当着至关重要的作用,钟表实际上被看作技术和科学"仪表"。约翰•亚诺和他的儿子决定尽力将钟表制作得坚固耐用且精准可靠,同时决定生产足够数量的钟表供海军舰队使用。最终,他们在提升国家海军力量方面居功至伟,促进了大不列颠对于海洋的统治。

新的仪表系列借鉴了约翰•罗杰•亚诺制作的几款原创腕表。这几款原创腕表的前两款是在他父亲过世前后制作的,分别被命名为1号和2号,这两款腕表具有"Z"形摆轮,平均时间和恒星时间显示,同时在6点钟位置还设有额外的小秒针。另一款重要的腕表由约翰•罗杰•亚诺与查尔斯(Charles Frodsham)于1855年共同制作,这是一款非同寻常的天文表,左边的附属表盘具有小时和分钟指针,可显示标准时间,右侧一个对称的表盘可显示动力储备指示,一枚中央秒针具备额外的计时双秒追针。

仪表系列除了采用以上的元素,设计方面亦表达出约翰•亚诺和他的儿子所设计和制作的怀表和航海天文钟的深远影响。在仪表系列中,太阳时的显示是次要的,所以太阳时的显示被设置在偏离中心的位置。这样可以使腕表最重要的功能竣于表盘的中央位置,使最重要的显示更加清晰。这一系列中的第一个型号,即TBR,是秒跳和逆行日期系列。

新款腕表的其它独特风格特征包括:简洁经典的线条设计以及一丝不苟,风格简朴的表壳。从侧面看,表壳从上到下呈锥开,最宽的部分可以容纳超大的玻璃和表盘,而底部则缩小,能够体贴地配戴在手腕上。

与皇家系列一样,新的亚诺表仪表系列是一个以优雅、精美的手工制作和装饰见称的腕表家族:表达出亚诺表悠久且光辉的传统印记。

浏览更多

© 2017 Arnold & Son

Instrument Collection

Combining marine precision with aesthetic perfection

The new Instrument Collection from Arnold & Son was inspired by the timepieces produced during the second part of John Arnold's life and later, following his death, by his son, John Roger. This was a period when the Arnolds dedicated themselves exclusively to the quest for absolute precision and a solution to the problem of determining longitude accurately and reliably on the high seas. So successful were they, and of such high quality their products, that within the space of a few years they had established themselves as suppliers of choice to the Royal Navy and to some of the most distinguished mariners and explorers of their day.

During this era, timepieces played a crucial role as aids to navigation and were, effectively, technical and scientific "instruments". John Arnold and his son decided to make them as rugged and reliable as possible, and in sufficient quantities to equip the Navy's extensive fleet. Ultimately, they were to prove pivotal to the nation's marine dominance and helped ensure that Britannia really did rule the waves.

The new Instrument Collection draws on several original timepieces made by John Roger Arnold. The first two of these, manufactured at around the time of his father's death, were known as No. 1 and No. 2, respectively, and featured a "Z" balance, mean and sidereal time displays, and an additional small seconds at 6 o'clock. Another important timepiece, produced in 1855 with Charles Frodsham, was a very unusual chronometer with hours and minutes displaying mean time in a subsidiary dial on the left, a symmetrical subdial on the right with a power reserve indication, and a central seconds with an additional chronograph split-seconds.

Elements of this arrangement are taken up in the Instrument Collection, the design of which clearly shows the influence of the pocket watches and marine chronometers developed and crafted by John Arnold and his son. Here, too, the display for solar time is of secondary importance and positioned off-centre. This allows the complication to take centre stage and dominate the dial, making it much more legible. The first model in the new line, the TBR, features a double complication in the form of a True Beat seconds and a retrograde date.

The other stylistic features that define the new timepieces are pure, timeless lines and a discreet - almost austere - case. Viewed from the side, the housing is stepped and tapers from top to bottom, the widest section accommodating the extra-large glass and dial with the lower part narrowing to fit snugly on the wrist.

Like the Royal Collection, the new Instrument Collection from Arnold & Son is a family of elegant, exquisitely handcrafted and finished timepieces: the sublime expression of a long and proud tradition. 

Explore

© 2014 Arnold & Son