历史

约翰•亚诺:
掌握当时的脉搏

约翰•亚诺于1736年出生在康沃尔郡。他的父亲是一名钟表匠,他的叔叔是一名军械工人,这或许可以解释为什么约翰•亚诺很早就对精密工程和金属制品产生了兴趣。约翰•亚诺是一名优秀的工匠和学者。在他完成了钟表学徒生涯,磨练了自己的制表技艺之后,19岁的约翰•亚诺离开英格兰来到荷兰。两年后,他回到英格兰,这时他能够讲一口流利的德语,而此技能使他在乔治三世的法院中稳站鳌头,在他二十几岁的时候,他就成为伦敦斯特兰德非常具声望的钟表匠。

在亚诺先生向英王乔治三世和法院展示了最小巧的打簧表之后,他迅速争取到一群富豪客户。他是那个时代最具创造力的制表大师之一,他拥有锁簧式擒纵机构、双金属摆轮以及螺旋游丝的专利。亚诺先生制造的"36号"是第一枚可以被称为天文台表的钟表;至今,"天文台表"这一名词一直用于指异常精的手表。

亚诺先生在那个时代的大事件中均担当核心角色。他与其它制表匠一起解决了经度确定的问题,赢得英国国会颁发的多项津贴和奖项。他成为了行业内备受尊敬的人物,并成为宝玑先生的挚友。他们互相交换意见,甚至接收对方的儿子当钟表学徒。

这是一个值得分享的故事。从这一节开始,我们将看到约翰•亚诺和他的儿子所取得的成就,看他们如何在钟表制造历史上占据一席之地。在阅读这些故事时,我们还会了解约翰•亚诺表和著名探险家的探索之旅,帮助东印度公司建立其商业帝国的经过。还有拿破仑.波拿巴于1802年亲自向米兰天文台送赠一台亚诺时钟的历程。

© 2017 Arnold & Son

History

John Arnold:
A finger on the pulse of his time

John Arnold was born in Cornwall in 1736. His father was a watchmaker and his uncle a gunsmith, which probably explains his early interest in precision engineering and metalwork. A talented craftsman and scholar, he left England for the Netherlands at the age of 19 after completing his apprenticeship to hone his watchmaking skills. He returned two years later speaking excellent German, which stood him in good stead later at the court of George III, and had established himself as a watchmaker of repute in London's Strand by his mid-twenties.

After Arnold presented the smallest repeating watch ever made to King George III and to the court, he rapidly acquired a wealthy clientele. He was one of the most inventive watchmakers of his day and held patents for a detent escapement, bimetallic balance and helical balance spring . Arnold's "No. 36" was the first timepiece to be called a chronometer, a term reserved for unusually precise watches to this day.

Arnold also played a central role in the events of his day. Along with other watchmakers, he addressed the problem of determining longitude, and won several grants and awards offered by the British Parliament. He enjoyed such respect in his profession that he became a close friend of Abraham-Louis Breguet. They exchanged ideas and even entrusted their sons to each other for their apprenticeships.

This is a story worth telling. Starting with this catalogue, we shall look at some of the achievements that assured John Arnold and his son of their place in watchmaking history. Following with the stories, we shall read how his timepieces accompanied famous explorers on their voyages of discovery, helped the East India Company establish its empire and how Napoleon Bonaparte himself presented an Arnold clock to the Observatory of Milan in 1802.

© 2014 Arnold & Son